Home » About us » The Board

The Board

Skander Malcolm

Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer

Skander was appointed Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director on 1 February 2017. He has more than 23 years’ experience in financial services including payments technology platforms in both established and emerging markets.

As President and CEO of GE Capital (A&NZ), he led a team of more than 4,500 employees with an emphasis on delivering sustainable growth and operational excellence.

While in the UK he launched the country’s first and largest digital personal loan business, Hamilton Direct Bank, which grew to more than £3 billion (in assets) in its first five years.

Steve Sargent

Chairman and Non-Executive Director

Steve joined OFX in August 2016 and has over 36 years’ global corporate experience in industries including financial services, mining and energy. Steve’s prior professional experience includes 22 years at General Electric, including a number of leadership positions as President and CEO GE Capital Australia and NZ and President and CEO GE Capital Asia Pacific.
Steve was appointed Vice President and Officer of General Electric Company in 2008 and was a member of GE’s Global Corporate Executive Council, the first Australian to ever be appointed to such positions in GE’s history.
Steve is also a Non-Executive Director of Origin Energy Limited, Nanosonics Limited, Lumitron Technology Inc., The Great Barrier Reef Foundation, Chair of the Origin Foundation and is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Grant Murdoch

Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Audit Committee

Grant joined OFX in September 2013 and has over 35 years’ experience in accounting and corporate finance. Grant’s prior professional experience includes Head of Corporate Finance for Ernst & Young Queensland, and he is a graduate of the Kellog Advanced Executive Program at the North Western University, Chicago, United States.

Grant is also a Non-Executive Director of ALS Limited, Redbubble Limited, UQ Holdings Limited, Lynas Corporation Limited.

Grant is also Senator of the University of Queensland; Adjunct Professor School of Business, Economics and Law at the University of Queensland; member of Queensland State Council of Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Douglas Snedden

Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Remuneration Committee

Doug joined OFX in March 2015 and has over 30 years’ experience in finance, consulting, strategic management and outsourcing. Doug has previously worked as Country Managing Director of Accenture Australia.

Doug is also a chairman of Odyssey House NSW, Mcgrath Foundation, Chairman of Chris O’Brien Lifehouse and Chairman of Isentia Group Limited.

Doug is also a Member of the National Library of Australia Council and a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Cathy Kovacs

Non-Executive Director

Ms Kovacs is a member of the Audit Risk and Compliance Committee.

Ms Kovacs has over 30 years operational experience in the financial services industry, having held senior executive leadership roles at Westpac Banking Group, Ellerston Capital, Macquarie Group and BT Investment Bank. Ms Kovacs’ most recent executive role was as Group Head of Business Development at Westpac until March 2019, where she was responsible for advising the Westpac Executive Committee and Board on business disruption and the future of banking and wealth, making strategic investments and managing strategic partnerships.

Ms Kovacs is a Director of Equitise Pty Ltd, Hub24 Ltd and the University Admission Centre (UAC).  She is a Finance Committee member of Kincoppal Rose Bay.

Connie Carnabuci

Non-Executive Director

Connie joined OFX in April 2019 and has over 30 years’ experience in legal practice, management and strategy, including significant private practice advice and deal experience in Asia in the technology, telecoms, new media (digital online), FMCG and renewable energy sectors.

Connie is also currently the General Counsel for the ABC. Prior to her role at the ABC, Connie was a partner at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer in Hong Kong leading the firm’s IP/TMT practice in Asia.

She also served as Co-head of the firm’s global technology practice. Before moving to Hong Kong, Connie practiced in Australia for 11 years, including as a Partner at Mallesons Stephen Jacques (now King and Wood Mallesons). She began her career as the Associate to the Honourable Justice Wilcox, Federal Court of Australia. 

Connie holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Marketing) (with Merit) and Bachelor of Laws and is a Member of the UNSW Business School Advisory Council and a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.